2004 Delegation


Michale Delaney

Michael graduated in May 2004 with a M.S. in Nuclear Engineering with a concentration on probabilistic risk assessment and energy policy from MIT. Michael received his B.S.E. in Engineering Physics from the University of Michigan in 2002. During the summer of 2002, he worked on Capitol Hill for Congresswoman Lynn River (D-MI). Michael plans to pursue a Master’s of Public Policy.

Vice Chair

Pamela S. Gondeck

Pamela graduated in May 2004 with a B.S. in Political Science and in May 2007 with a B.S. in Nuclear Engineering, both from Texas A&M University. She previously served as Chief Financial Officer and Secretary for the American Nuclear Society chapter at Texas A&M. Nationally, she has served on the ANS Board of Directors and Student Sections Committee. Pamela is a licensed senior reactor operator at the Texas A&M Nuclear Science Center and will be working for Entergy as a Reactor Engineer at their Waterford-3 nuclear power plant.


Jennifer Koop

Jennifer recently completed a B.S. in Radiological Health Engineering at Texas A&M in May of 2005. She has interned with the Probabilistic Safety Analysis group at Entergy Nuclear and is currently interning with the International Atomic Energy Agency in Vienna, Austria. She is interested in public policy and public education in the nuclear sciences.

Brinnany Meriwether

Brittany is a fourth year student at Georgia Tech majoring in Nuclear and Radiological Engineering. She will graduate with a B.S. in Radiation Health Engineering and a minor in music in the Spring of 2006. Her current goal after graduation is to go to the University of Michigan where she will earn a Master’s in Medical Physics and a second undergraduate degree in Music Performance.

Bradley J. Motl

Brad graduated from Augsburg College with a Bachelor’s degree in Physics and Mathematics. He is currently a third year graduate student at University of Wisconsin – Madison pursuing a Ph.D. in Nuclear Engineering and Engineering Physics. Brad works as a Research Assistant and is studying gas pair interactions in the presence of a shock wave. This research has applications in inertial confinement fusion target design.

Hayden Olenik

Hayden recently completed his B.S. in Nuclear Engineering from Purdue University in December of 2004. He is now pursuing his Master’s degree at Purdue and works as a research assistant studying two phase flow in packed beds under Purdue’s Multiphase and Fuel Cell Research Laboratory. He is the Nuclear Engineering PGSG (Purdue Graduate Student Government) Senator and is currently the Student Director of ANS National.

Sean Puskas

Sean Puskas is a student at RPI where he studies Nuclear Engineering, Engineering Physics, and Industrial and Organizational Psychology. He is a reactor operator at the university’s reactor critical facility. Sean has done an internship for Southern California Edison, San Onofre nuclear power station.

Kristen J. Smith

Kristen completed her undergraduate degree at Oregon State University. She is currently pursuing a Master’s degree at Idaho State University in Radiation Health Physics. Kristen is a research assistant funded by a grant through the Department of Energy’s Advanced Fuel Cycle Initiative (AFCI) and is workign on research with Positron Annihilation Spectroscopy. She took part in the World Nuclear University at the Idaho National Laboratory during the summer of 2005.

Aaron Weston

Aaron completed his B.S. in Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences at the University of Michigan. He has twice participated in the Nuclear Science Internship Program at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory and presented at the National Health Physics Society Summer 2003 Conference. Aaron will be attending law school in Fall 2005 and will be spending the interim period overseas.

Rian M. Bahran

Rian is a graduate student at RPI pursuing a Ph.D. in Nuclear Science and Engineering. As undergraduate at RPI, he earned a dual B.S. in Nuclear Engineering and Engineering Physics. Outside of his coursework, Rian has been involved in research projects relating to the upgrade of the Gaerttner Linear Accelerator Laboratory (LINAC) Injection Line. He previously served as the President of the ANS student section at RPI and was the general chair of the 2006 ANS Student Conference.